My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg “The Chef” Reilly!

November 13 – December 7, 2017

I travel to the Middle East a couple of times a year and not only to Israel, but to Egypt, Greece, Italy, Jordan and more. I get asked “IS IT SAFE” all the time, and I am happy to report that Israel is as safe as it has
ever been. Even with the current situation, talking to my friends in person that live in Israel, they feel the political situation is stable and the people of Israel are looking forward to a peaceful 2018 and beyond. Israel broke their tourist record in 2017
, and the current numbers show they will break it again in 2018. Join Maranatha Tours on a Christian Tour of The Holy Land!

My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

 

 

I had the privilege to be a part of some great groups traveling through The Holy Land in November and December 2017. I am usually on our Fixed and Co Hosted groups traveling the beginning of November, but this year I wanted to also join the Pastor Jim Gilley and Friends Tours in addition to the MTI Fixed Tour.

 

My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

 

 

My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

 

Turkish Air Departure

I departed November 13th flying on my B-Day (Happy Birthday To ME) on one of my favorite airlines, Turkish Air! What a fun bunch of people for sure.

 

 

Group Arrivals Part 1

What could be better than arriving into Tel Aviv early and greeting all of the Pastor Gilley Group Passengers? I’ll tell Ya, Hanging out with Malcolm (Maranatha Tours Chief Guide) before they get in!

 

My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

 

 

My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

 

Leonardo Club Tiberias

I began my time in Israel in Tiberias. Waking up on the Sea of Galilee with the sun coming up is something I dream about. The Leonardo has great food and breathtaking views of the Sea of Galilee.  What a great start!

 

 

Tree Planting

I had the privilege to be a part of Pastor Jim Gilley’s tree planting ceremony in memory of Ben Krueger (his grandson). What a special moment for the entire group to plant a trees in memory of someone special and all in the Ben Krueger avenue of trees.

 

My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

 

 

My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

 

Jerusalem

Once we entered Jerusalem, atop Mt. Scopus, we behold majestic Jerusalem. As Malcolm welcomed the group over looking the Old City!

 

 

Christmas in Bethlehem

Pastor Gilley and CA Murray passing the light and singing carols is and experience everyone needs to have. Christmas being right around the corner made it even more memorable!

 

My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

 

 

My Trip to The Holy Land Review December 2017

 

Christmas Tree Lighting

The first week of December every year they light the Bethlehem Christmas Tree in front of the Manger Church. What an amazing experience and thank you to the Bethlehem residents for letting us be a part of this once a year festivity. Also hanging out with our good friends the Tabash Family was extra special.

 

 

Pastor Rey Gonzalez

It is always fun taking a taxi and venturing out and bumping into all the Maranatha Groups touring Israel. I snuck up and surprised the Pastor Rey Gonzalez family and his group at the Church of All Nations!

 

 

 

Ibex

 

Ibex Sighting (YES MY PHOTO)

One of the more fun days is traveling to Masada and Ein Gedi. It is always a plus when you can spot 1 Ibex, but when you can get up close and see a herd walking on top of bushes it is a moment to capture and share!

 

 

Group Arrivals Part 2

Back to the airport in Tel Aviv (I think they know me now.  Some of the staff at the airport wave to me)! Now with Foteh (Maranatha Tours guide) and Azam who is one of the BEST Bus Captains in all of Israel.

 

 

 

 

New 60 Seater Bus

All New Buses and now the 60 seat bus driven by Azam. Our buses are the best in Israel.

 

 

Beit Shean Photo Op

What better place than to take a photo op with the back ground of Beit Shean! Was super fun to have Rebecca and our friends Chris & Emily fly in and join our MTI November Fixed Departure.

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

Mount Bental

Our group got to go up to Mount Bental (The Golan Heights) and really get a good view of Syria. The UN peace keepers where even answering our groups questions and taking photos.

 

 

Mount Arbel
(Valley of the Doves)

This was a first for me as I have been on top of Mount Arbel countless times, but never walked the Valley of the Doves. This would have been the path Jesus would have taken between the Sea of Galilee and Nazarth. Absolutely amazing to actually Walk where Jesus Walked! 

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

 

 

FOOD!

Just going to start putting food pics in as this is defiantly one of my favorites when traveling in Israel. (Did you see the Bread Pic…even better in person)!

 

 

Sea of Galilee in December

Israel has amazing weather, even in December. We were Blessed with the beauty of The Sea of Galilee day after day. A great time to travel.

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

Camel Ride

Another bucket list goal checked off…

 

 

Another Photo Op

Once one person takes a picture with a soldier the entire group wants to. I had to take the photos, so I’m not in one! I think this was a highlight for most of the group.

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

 

 

Lunch Break in Bethlehem

Wait is that one of our passengers making Fresh Falafel?  Why yes it is, and she did a marvelous job. If you haven’t heard I have come out with a Falafel and Shawarma Seasoning blend that is now available for purchase at https://ontheroadeats.com/spice-shop-buy-on-the-road-eats-seasoning-spices-rubs/

 

 

The AWE Moment

Yep there is always one on a Holy Land Tour and Rebecca had it! That’s so Cute.

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

Dome of the Rock

Always fun to be able to tour the Temple Mount and get those early photos of the Dome of the Rock.

 

 

Thanksgiving Dinner at the Ambassador Hotel

If you have stayed at the Ambassador in Jerusalem you will know what I am talking about when I talk about the FOOD! But you have to go during Thanksgiving. Chef Ahmad Ashayer puts on a Thanksgiving Dinner even brings out the American touch. Absolutely amazing and Greg “The Chef” Reilly’s highlight.

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

 

My trip to The Holy Land Update with Greg "The Chef" Reilly!

 

Pastor Al Detter Group

Who do I bump into…Pastor Al Detter! His group was just starting when I saw him and ended up running into them again a week later!

 

 

We have groups traveling monthly and as you can see by the pictures from November 13 – December 7, 2017, this is truly an amazing and life changing trip. Make 2018 the year you make your first (or 100th) journey to The Holy Land with Maranatha Tours and walk where Jesus walked.

Sincerely,

Greg “The Chef” Reilly
General Director
Maranatha Tours Inc.

 

The Holy Land

 

The Holy Land

The Footsteps of Jesus tour starts at $2,399 from New York.  Visit The Sea of Galilee, Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Jericho, Masada, the Dead Sea and much more. Our extensive Holy Land pilgrimage will turn the Bible from Black and White to Color!

 

Comments

comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *